The Random Wednesday Night

I finally have the huge backlog of unread blogs cleared out.  I’ve also dealt with the ones to which I wanted to reply.  I’ve picked up my order from the Mystery Book Store and I’m sitting at a friend’s house waiting for dinner.  It’s movie night again and I think the Movie is City of the Lost Children.  I REALLY want to watch it but we will be starting it a little later than usual and I’m thinking I may want to get home a little earlier than that.  I had one or two things I wanted to do still.

The movie would fit in very well with the 31 Days of Halloween.  A surreal treat in which a mad scientist kidnaps children to steal their dreams in an attempt to become young again or at least stop his aging.  A strong man from a circus is trying to find his stolen little brother.  He enlists the aid of a young street girl who is part of a gang of kids lead by Siamese twins.  I suppose I really ought to say co-joined twins.  It’s a French or German film.  Or maybe it’s a French/German film.

But then there is the dishwasher calling and the litter boxes and the garbage to take out.  I need to get new batteries for the mouse and there was something else vital.  I actually have forgotten that item because my friend just showed me the pumpkin carving kit she got and we were discussing if it was useful or not.  Those kits come with silly little scoops that are not at all effective for pumpkin guts.  But I like the little carving saws because it gives more control than when using big kitchen knives…  

I suppose I shouldn’t have looked at the horror movies she sat down next to me because now I’m envisioning some creepy bad guy using the little pumpkin kit knives to carve jack’o’lanterns into the back of peoples heads.  Not really made for going though bone.

Wow, this is more random than I planned.  Would you like to hear about the sake shots we are now having?  Another friend brought back little bottles of fruit flavored sake.  She is now pregnant and she gave them to my hostess.  The pineapple sake is my favorite.  The Lime Sake was her favorite.  Actually, we couldn’t tell if it was lemon or lime.  It tasted a bit like both.  Limon Sake.  There was also a mango sake.  She thought it was too sweet and mango is not my favorite fruit. Or melon.  Or gourd.  What is a mango anyway?

We couldn’t figure out the alcohol content of them.  But not as high as more the more standard sake.  It took three drinks to feel the alcohol.  But it has put us in the mood to discuss New Years plans.  This is not drinking typing.  This is more like my borderline stream of consciousness typing.  Odd that I’m managing to do it while having a discussion.  We are thinking about having a Masq.  Sorry, but neither of can figure out the spelling so I’ll abbreviate.   It works for us.  And hey, Phantom of the Opera just came on so we are cranking it.  

We also listened to a few tracks by Jill Tracey.  If you haven’t heard of her you need to listen to her.  Dark Cabaret.  My favorite song so far is ‘The Fine Art of Poisoning”.  

8:10 and the rest of the dinner guests have not shown up.  I don’t want to be up to late so if they don’t get here soon we may just eat but I won’t stay for the delightful movie.  I suppose that means it is a good time to stop now.  Catch you on the flip side.

Leave a Reply

