Historical Fiction and NaNoWriMo

Last night, laying in bed, just as I was drifting off to sleep, I finally decided what to write for NaNoWriMo.

Then I woke up today and had no clue. Nothing. Nada. Gone like the Wind.

I have been doing research on Raedwald, who is believed to be the person burried on the Sutton Hoo. I thought a fictionalized novel about him might be fun to read. So a friend told me I better write it. I was not researching him to write it. I was researching early rulers of Britain. I was doing so because I took several courses in British history in college and I wanted to brush up on the stuff I knew I was beginning to forget.

I also have done a lot of research on Marie Laveau for this year’s Halloween costume and theme. She was the Voodoo Queen of New Orleans form the 1830’s to her death in 1871. After that her daughter of the same name took over until her death in 1896 I think. I could write a fictionalized story about her.

I wanted to write something completely made up, so I wouldn’t have to worry about fact checking. But I feel like those ideas are going nowhere.

Leave a Reply

