My First Taste of Greek Yogurt

I admit that I’ve only tried Greek yogurt twice. The first time was a few months ago, it was flavored and I really don’t remember the nutritional info on the back nor do I remember what I thought of it.

This morning I wanted to pick up something with protein for breakfast.

The first thing that caught my eye was that Greek yogurt cost anywhere from double to quadruple the cost of regular yogurt. I flipped to the backs and saw wide ranges of calories, fat, and sugar. In the end I picked one that cost only twice as much as usual, was fat free, and also had less sugar than any of the others.

Once at work, I pulled out my cinnamon and added a bit. The yogurt was terrible. I even resorted to adding a packet of Aprivia (a no calorie sweetener). It was still terrible.

I had a bag of plain chips in the drawer so I started eating those instead. I was feeling guilty about not eating a cup of yogurt that cost so much so I decided to try to get a few more spoonfuls down.

Wow.

What a difference those salty, fatty chips made.

After the chips, the yogurt suddenly tasted wonderful. It turns out that Greek yogurt is the perfect foil for salty food. The salty stuff made the yogurt suddenly taste less bitter and much sweeter and smoother. I actually regretted that there was no more yogurt when I reached the bottom of the cup.

Eating bad chips to make the yogurt palatable rather defeats the purpose of eating it to help with weight loss. Maybe I need to try some other brands to compare taste. I probably won’t buy the one that is supposed to be number one. I also noticed that it is also the most highly priced.

It might be good to use as a replacement for sour cream in chili or soups. The taste would work and it would probably blend as well and with the extra protein it ought to make it more filling. I may make some dips from it as well. Rather that cream cheese or ranch blends. Use a pack of dip seasoning with a cup or two for the yogurt. That should make some really nice veggie dips.

Leave a Reply

