Almond Chicken as I know it.

For several years I have been craving Almond Chicken.  The Almond Chicken from back home.  The Almond Chicken from my college years.

When I was in California, it was a chicken stirfry with almonds on top.  Here in Omaha, it is another variation of a chicken stirfry with almonds on top. 

Back home, it was a large piece of boneless chicken that was breaded in a breading that included crushed almonds.  It was cooked so the outside was a bit crunchy, sliced neatly, topped with a special sauce and sprinkled with more crushed almonds.  It was wonderful.  I miss it so much. 

Nothing I’ve found anywhere else come close.  I have not been able to figure out what the sauce was or the exact breading composition to try to recreate it correctly.  

Since I can’t have what I want, I think I will pick up Indian take away.  Probably a lamb vindaloo with the particularily fluffy fried bread they have rather than ordinary naan.

Leave a Reply

