Nose Pollution, Aroma or Smell Pollution?

I wonder what you would call intense and unpleasant odors.  I would think it would be air pollution.  To be clear here, I’m not talking about something obvious.  Not a pig farm.  Not driving into a town with a lot of lumber mills.  This is about smelly stores in the mall. Leather smells lovely.  Until you go into an exlusive leather store and the scent leads to an instant migraine.  Candles can also be pleasant.  Up to the point you enter a small confined space filled with thousands of differently scented candles.

But what about the interior corridors of the mall?  How far should those scents be allowed to extend?  I ask this as I recover from a serious sinus episode triggered last thursday after work.  I walked past the store.  I was not even on the same side of the hall as the store.  I was across the way.  My sinuses instantly filled and began a non-stop process that led to complete congestion and a sore throat and me losing my voice. 

Saturday I realized I no longer could taste anything.  My lemon italian ice just tasted like shaved ice.  No flavor at all.  I realized that my unsatisfying lunch and dinner were due to lack of taste.  Sunday continued along the same linrd.  So I didn’t make anything special.  In fact, Cottage Cheese makes a handy meal when you can’t taste anything.  It is smooth and cold and easy to eat.  Have it with some milk to coat that itchy, dry, painful throat.  It hurt more from coughing than anything else.

This morning was much better.  I could taste food for the first time in days.  I had picked up a biscuit and gravy from the breakfast counter.  Not one of my favorite things.  I find it to be a very bland meal.  I’m not big on country gravy at all.  Pepper.  Lots of spicy black pepper.  I could taste it.  It was wonderful.  It was the best thing to pass over my taste buds since Friday afternoon.  Or was it Thursday?  It seems so long ago.  The day I picked up Indian take away and had Lamb Vindaloo with Indian Rice and Paratha.  I think the only reason I could taste that is because it was hot hot hot.  It was heaven in a red sauce. 

But back to smells, and odors, and aromas, and stench.  When a shop is so overpoweringly smelly that it makes shoppers sick, I think they need to re-examine their ventilation issues.   I’ll avoid that end of the mall from now on.  I really don’t want to go through another sinus infection triggered by smelling perfumed wax.

Leave a Reply

