Machete

I always liked Danny Trejo.  Despite the fact he was always cast as a bad guy’s henchman or a bad guy himself.  The way he ended up in the movie industry is an interesting story in itself.

Trejo as in prison and became a boxing champion inside the system.  When he got out, he spoke at 12 step programs and met a guy in the movie industry who invited him to the set.  He got offered a part as an extra.  Then one of the writers recognized him because they did time together.  Which in turn landed him a job training another actor how to box since the movie included a boxing scene as well as a permanent part in the movie.

I swear it sounds like there is a movie in there.

 Machete started out as a fake trailer during the beginning of the movie Planet Terror.  I learned later that it was also a character in Spy Kids.  But I don’t remember that.  I may have it so I may go back and watch it.  Planet Terror was a part of Grindhouse.  A double feature of a certain type of film. 

 I will admit my ignorance in that I didn’t realize that ‘grindhouse’ was a film term for a type of theater specializing in B-movies.  I thought Grindhouse films were Robert Rodriguez films and it was a movie company or something.  You know, like Hammer Films.  In the past, I believe that B-movies were films that once finished were just not of a good enough quality to make it on their own so two would be thrown together as a cheap double feature.  Now they would be straight to DVD.  But I believe that Robert Rodriguez films this type of movie on purpose.  Now it is a valid filming style for people who have a fondness for movies and film history. 

So when I found out they were going to actually release a film based on the phony trailer, I was excited.  I went to the movie with friends and I have to admit I laughed my head off.  When the doctor explains to the nurses that the intestinal track is ten times the length of a person, you just knew what was going to happen next.  It was so obvious.  I think some of the people in the theater may have thought I was laughing too much. 

And the casting, for something that was deliberately a B-movie, it was filmed with big names.  De Niro, Seagal (although I liked seeing him so overweight, puffy, and killed because I pretty much hate him), Don Johnson, Cheech, Alba, (I have no opinion on Lohan as I don’t like her either), and Michelle Rodriquez (who looks really really familiar, like I should know who she is but somehow nothing comes to mind).

The movie is just a fun ride.  It’s almost a spoof that isn’t really a spoof.  Well, maybe it is.  It’s the type of spoof that takes itself seriously and works in a way that normally only the British film industry is capable of doing.  Normally, Hollywood spoofs that try to take themselves to seriously as a legitimate film flop.  But British spoofs that do the same, (think Shaun of the Dead) manage to stand on their own two feet and work.  Robert Rodriguez is capable of doing films that spoof B-films in such a way that we can laugh at parts of it yet enjoy it as it’s own film and not just as a spoof of something else.

Anyway, I just watched this over the weekend and still found myself giggling away at parts and totally enjoying the movie.

Leave a Reply

