Nemesis Game Disappointed.

The plot sounded interesting.  I like Adrian Paul.  I figured I would give this movie a try.  The style engaged me.  I loved the suspense, I loved the riddles.  They were a bit to easy and I didn’t really think I was that great at riddles myself.  But it was fun trying to guess them faster than the characters.

The two leads were quite good.  But then, I’ve seen Adrian Paul do well with poor scripts so I figured I would probably enjoy it if it wasn’t terribly good.  I loved the cinematography.  Some parts made me feel like I was in an old click and walk adventure game solving puzzles.

I didn’t like Adrian Paul’s ‘scars’.  They were supposed to be fire burn but looked much more like old laser removal of tattoos.  While his acting was good his character development wasn’t.  It was like we were missing a lot of back ground on him.  I also thought the father might have been more involved in the game.

I HATED the ending.  I didn’t like that Vern kills Sara.  I liked him.  I liked her.  I also felt entirely dissatisfied with the ‘design’.  Exactly how did solving such an EASY riddle lead him to realize the ‘design’?  Why does this knowledge make a person go out and kill someone only to then turn themselves in?  If those questions were answered, I could have lived with the ending.

But they were not.  If the ended had not been so dissatisfying, then I might have given this movie a 7 or 8.  As it was, I can only get up to a 3.

Leave a Reply

