Zombified

 

My eyes feel dry and gritty and tired and swollen.  My eyeballs feel like I need to pop them out and soak them in milk.  Maybe I need to wash the sockets out too.  They feel gunky and gummy and leaving a film on my eyes.  It sounds like allergies but doesn’t feel like allergies.

 

My sinuses have split personality disorder.  Sniffles, Sneezing, Running and Congested at the same time.  They feel like exploding.  Humans are a carbon based life form.  Does that mean, given enough time and pressure, the dwarves mining tunnels in main brain could eventually mine for diamonds in what was once my snot?

 

My entire face feels like my skull has swollen up and the skin is now too small for my head, so it is stretched out and thin and tight and tender.  Perhaps it is my brain swelling rather than my skull.  It feels like it doesn’t have enough room and those mining dwarves have taken up residence again.  Tap tap tap, Pound pound pound.

 

Of course, the only visual evidence slightly saggy eyes, half shuttered to block out the extra light that work seems to be providing us.  We all have cubicle lights, why can’t they just turn out the overhead lights?  And I can’t forget the dark purple smudges beneath my eyes.  You wouldn’t think that I had 7 hours of sleep last night.  I might not have.  I constantly woke up, all night long, and my last dream was of getting hooked up to a machine so I could sleep for someone else, so that person would never need to sleep.

 

Being a sleeper right now sounds really good.  I suspect I’m running a low fever.  It feels like it.  It usually happens when I’m overly tired.  And that is exactly what I think it could be.  As sick as I feel, as zombified as I feel, horribly wretched as I feel, I think I’m just tired. 

 

I can hardly keep my eyes open.  I feel like I’m about to pass out in my chair, the past 1 hour has felt like three.  I’m doing this mostly to keep myself from toppling over into a stupor. 

 

Coffee and soda have been no help whatsoever.  Any magic cures?

2 Responses to “Zombified”

  1. At least you don’t have gas.

Leave a Reply

