I’ve been dealing with pain for much of the past 4 or 5 years, here is a bit about it.

Plantar Fasciitis and Meralgia Paraesthetica.  The words sound scary.

Plantar Fasciitis: involves pain and inflammation of a thick band of tissue, called the plantar fascia, that runs across the bottom of your foot and connects your heel bone to your toes. Plantar Fascists is one of the most common causes of heel pain.

The source of my heel pain.

Plantar Fasciitis commonly causes stabbing pain that usually occurs with your very first steps in the morning. Once your foot limbers up, the pain of plantar fasciitis normally decreases, but it may return after long periods of standing or after getting up from a seated position.

Area affected by Meralgia Paraesthetica

Meralgia Paraesthetica: is numbness or pain in the outer thigh not caused by injury to the thigh, but by injury to a nerve that extends from the thigh to the spinal column.

This chronic neurological disorder involves a single nerve, namely the lateral cutaneous nerve of thigh (also called the Lateral femoral cutaneous nerve). The term meralgia paraesthetica comprises four Greek roots, which together denote “thigh pain with anomalous perception”.

Where the nerve goes through the hip. Women’s hips are different from men’s so it is more common in women than men.

Pain on the outer side of the thigh, occasionally extending to the outer side of the knee, usually constant.
A burning sensation, tingling, or numbness in the same area
Multiple bee-sting like pains in the affected area
Occasionally, aching in the groin area or pain spreading across the buttocks
Usually more sensitive to light touch than to firm pressure
Hyper sensitivity to heat (warm water from shower feels like it is burning the area)

In addition to the Plantar Fasciitis in both of my feet, I have Meralgia Paraesthetica in my left leg.  I’ve had it longer than the PF.  My first doctor told me to lose weight and it would go away.  That was also the doctor that told me to change shoes and lose weight to make the PF go away and didn’t give me any other info on it.  The new doctor says that a lot of women get Meralgia Paraesthetica and losing weight may not do anything. And since i was 85-90  lbs lighter when it started, that may not be a factor at all.  In fact, between that and the PF starting a year or so later, these two conditions curtailing my ability to work out and stay active are a direct cause of my weight gain.

Anyway, It was so bad twice this week that it kept me up most of one night and all last night.  So bad last night that I had to call in to work today.  Oddly enough, the PF didn’t bother me at all this morning.  But in the past month, I’ve had mornings so bad that a couple of times I was a little late for work and one morning I was nearly 2 hours late.

I got another appointment.  The soonest they can get me in is next Friday afternoon.

Leave a Reply

