Friday’s Frustrations

Several years ago, no long after I was out of training on my job, the supervisor called all of us together for a meeting.  There were not very many off us, two in the room and one on a phone.  She worked from home.  He said people were making a mistake and he wanted to make sure every one understood how it was supposed to be done.

The Cause Code should always match the action of the Act of Insured/Adverse, which ever did the action that lead to the accident.  If the Insured rear ended someone else, it would be ‘struck unit ahead’.  If the adverse party rear ended the insured, it would still be ‘struck unit ahead’.  In both cases, the vehicle performing the action has struck the unit ahead of it.  So even thought there is a ‘struck from behind’ option, we wouldn’t be using it. 

He asked if we understood and we all nodded.  The he said, “If everyone understands then why aren’t you doing it?”  We were all to embarrassed to say anything.  Now this is significant because the supervisor is normally a pretty mellow person. I had never seen him this upset either before or after that one meeting.

I was the new person and I had been doing it wrong.  I felt really bad about it because I thought it was my mistake.  I felt as if we had been totally chewed out and it was my fault.  I nodded yes, that I understood, because now I did.  I left that meeting feeling about two inches tall.

It came up today because someone in the other unit was being trained by two people who were telling her two different things.  We realized that several of us were taught differently. 

Most of the new people were being taught to use the “struck from behind” option if someone else hit one of our insured vehicles.  The supervisor of my unit decided to send an email out for clarification.  The person who totally chewed us out a few years back said that if the other party hits one of our vehicles, then we use ‘struck form behind’.  Totally, opposite of what he said that day when read us the riot act, so to speak.

My anxiety levels are now through the roof.  I can’t sit still and I’m practically shaking.  I remember how I felt leaving that meeting and now it turns out I wasn’t just me, everyone had been doing it wrong.  And the other two continued to do it that way and I was the only one to ‘correct’ myself.  Only to find out that that was really that way they wanted it.  That there was no reason to have gotten chewed out like that.  I wasn’t doing it wrong after all and that horrible feeling I had after the meeting was all for nothing. 

I’m so upset about it that I can’t stop thinking about it.  I’m twice as jittery compared to my normal fidgetiness.  My left eye is twitching.  That only happens when I’m majorly stressed out.  I’m lucky my hands haven’t gone numb and curled up.  Have you seen the curled hands of long time coma patients?  My hands do that and sort of lock up when I feel a great deal of stress.  I can’t straighten them out until I relax.  It feels like there was no point to that awful meeting.  I feel like I need Goma Ae and Seaweed Sushi rolls. 

This was written Friday but not posted.  I did not have Goma Ae and Seaweed Sushi Rolls.  In fact, I do not remember what I had at all.  Oh, pizza.  At the movies.  My roommate had an even worse day and we ended up at the theater watching Red Dawn after work.  Nice violent movie with which to help one calm down.

2 Responses to “Friday’s Frustrations”

  1. In Star Trek, you’d just say, “Computer, locate the verbal log entry where Supervisor X stated the rule he just countered and play it back.” I often think how nice this would be, and have nearly become convinced I should put cameras and mics all over my house and simply record my kids, because they pull this crap all the time.

    The question is, do people forget what they’ve said, or are they intentionally lying about it and hoping everyone else has forgotten what they said and can’t prove it?

    Bottom line: policy must be written. Revisions to policy must be logged with date, user, and deltas. There is no other way except a short trip through the fires of anxiety and a long journey through the intestines of anger, until finally exiting the sphincter of not giving a shit – but still shitty nonetheless.

    • This is why I save emails. Unfortunately, this was a meeting and not an email. But, I sometimes think, this company avoids writing things down at time so they can deny it later. Or I’m just being really cynical right now.

Leave a Reply

