The Crud

There is this thing that goes around Omaha every year that even the doctors call – The Crud.  It is something like a cold.  And something like the flu.  Toss in something like a sinus infection and you get something that is a little like everything and yet none of those things.  It is viral and you pretty much have to ride it out.  Only it gets passed around more than a juicy piece of  gossip in the tabloids.  So it constantly changes.  If you live alone and clean house every day and stay away from stores and clean your desk space often, you ‘may’ be less likely to get it. 

This is how I’ve been spending most of my time since the end of November.  So I’m a bit behind and haven’t found the time to write about anything or blog about anything or do much of anything.  I have managed to read a lot.  And Sleep a lot.  Sleep has taken on a life of its own and deserves to have a capital S. 

As in Super Sleep.  The Sleep Wars. Sleep Strikes Back.  Return of Sleep.  Fatal Sleep.  Eyes Wide Sleeping.  The Sleep of the 50 Foot Woman.  The Sleep.  The Big Sleep.  Indian Jones and the Temple of Sleep.  Sleeping on Elm St.  Aliens versus Sleep.  American Sleep.  Well, that last one could be a whole heck of a lot of movies. 

I stayed home sick for the last two days and if my budget could have afforded it, I probably would have been there again today.  So I maybe catching up on stuff.  Or I may be sleeping some more.  Hard to tell as I sit here and sniffle.  But that could be the cayenne I put in my couscous and tin of chicken breast.

Leave a Reply

