Purisalv

A few days back, I decided I was desperate enough to look up that sensa stuff you sprinkle on your food.  It is supposed to help you lose weight.  I ended up at a chart some researcher did that displays the various types of similar weight-loss products.  Topping the chart was a very affordable seed.

purisalv-chia2 img-nutrition-label-sm bkgd-mixgatorade

This was Purisalv, a chia seed.  At 30$, it was more affordable than other weight-loss products.  It is a high fiber additive full of antioxidants, omega-3, protein, iron, fiber, calcium, potassium, and magnesium.

You can put it in water or juice and let it soak 10 minutes and drink or sprinkle it on salads, yogurt, oatmeal much like you would with flax seeds and other fiber additives.

If taken after soaking, the seeds absorb liquid and release it as your stomach attempts to digest them.  They are 7 carbs, 6 fiber, 4.5 fat, and 3 protein per 2 tbsp.  This means it is half digestible and half should pass through the system.

But in addition to being a good fiber additive, the fact that they swell up also means that they make  you feel full and eat smaller meals.

I thought I would give it a try.   They look just like sesame seeds and are black and white like sesame seeds.  Only sesame seeds do not absorb fluid.  I know.  I tried once because I wanted to see if it was possible to make  a stuffing for meat out of sesame seeds.  It did not work.

I was a little concerned  about the texture or mouth feel of drinking these seeds.  But it was totally cool.  Have you ever tried bubble tea?  It is sort of like a fruit icy with giant tapioca beads in it.  These chia seeds do not puff up that big, but they feel much the same.  So it is like bubble tea made with smaller tapioca.

I only tried half a serving with my breakfast.  It was hard to finish.  It is really filling.  So I think it really does what it says.  10 lbs a month would let me lose all the weight I want in one year. That would be cool.  The chart showed that it helped people lose a little more weight.  It wasn’t like it was a miracle cure or anything.  You actually have to be trying to lose weight and eat better.  But even if a person is not trying to lose weight and just needs more fiber, I think this is an excellent fiber supplement.

Leave a Reply

