One of THOSE days . . . .

At 8:32 am I’m resorting to a cup of coffee. I hate coffee. I’m that desperate. I’m unbelievably sleepy today.

It doesn’t help that we are expecting a major snow storm this afternoon. Half the people are walking around talking about leaving early. Schools closed preemptively. Despite the fact that the heavy show has been pushed back until 2:00 today. The light flurries have been pushed back until after the noon hour. The Winter Storm Warning has been pushed back to noon Thursday through noon Friday from 6:00 am on the aforementioned days.

Other schools were a bit smarter and are having half days. But maybe the whole day is better. Is it harder for working parents to deal with the whole day or the half day? I don’t know.

Anyway, I think it is going to be one of THOSE days.

There is a group of mostly clerical staff, with a couple of professional members, that seem to think it is a party day. In fact, they spent half an hour being loud yesterday and have already started today.

This is a point of contention. My unit is always getting complaints that we are too loud. But we are the phone unit. We are taking incoming calls to report losses or check up on claims all day long. We have to spend all day talking. It is our job.

These people are not phone people. They do have some phone tasks, a few are lunch time backups. Their loudness does not come from any phone work. It is coming from half hour long chatty breaks.

These built-up, over-sensasionalized storm days result in people talking all day and not working. Part of the staff is leaving at half day to get home before the storm hits. Several people said they would just take the day off. That means the rest of us will most likely have to stay until the bitter end.

I could also do without the dire build up on how awful the day is going to be, weather-wise, and the build up of hope for office closures, but then the weather ends up getting pushed back so that it only affects the drive home, if it even hits that early. These storms usually get pushed back to the evenings. It ends up being both a distraction and a let down.

Top it all off, there was some major guild drama and a lot of high-ranking, highly involved guild officers split from the leadership and quit the guild.

My raid leader started his own guild. Part of my team is still in the old one and part in the new one. Some of the guild officers left and joined his guild.

You see, the man who originated the guild, 8 years ago, (it is a massive organization crossing many games and servers and not like any other guild I’ve ever seen) wrote a letter and put it on the forums in which he stated whom he wanted to be his officers and why and went so far as to actually insult and threaten some of the very people he wanted to keep. Which is why some of the people he wanted ended up quitting.

He wrote stuff that totally went against everything he has said the guild stands for in every single guild meeting I’ve been to. It sounded so different from him that some people had originally thought someone might have hacked him or somehow gotten into his account. It also sounded very much like drunk ranting. But no, turned out he sent a draft of the letter to a senior officer who verified that this was the actual guild leader’s words.

I ended up staying late to read this letter and all the responses to it and the letters from the senior officers who found the entire thing distasteful enough to decide they had to leave the guild.

The result is that I am very tired today. I didn’t get enough sleep. I had to drive because my roommate normally has class on this night. When I asked about his classes getting canceled he turned the entire thing in to an argument and an exercise in semantics that I decided he just didn’t want to go in to work together. When I ran into him at work, he said he went to tell me that he did NOT have classes but I had already left. I was tired and hungry and not in the mode to play games. So yeah, I left so I could get to work early enough to get breakfast.

Now I’m sitting here, drinking nasty coffee, drinking Pepsi, trying to get rid of a headache, and trying to stay awake while working on various tasks. I can’t keep my eyes open and it is going to be a LONG day.

Leave a Reply

