Insomnia, a nuisance or a way of life….

I know people who say they only need three hours sleep a night and they say they are fine. They get a lot of work done and always have time to clean. Oval bed.There does seem to be a gene linked to people who only need 6 hours of sleep. There is also a very small number of people who are ‘short sleepers’. But even they are 5 – 6 hour sleeps.

“To date, Dr. Jones says he has identified only about 20 true short sleepers, and he says they share some fascinating characteristics. Not only are their circadian rhythms different from most people, so are their moods (very upbeat) and their metabolism (they’re thinner than average, even though sleep deprivation usually raises the risk of obesity). They also seem to have a high tolerance for physical pain and psychological setbacks.”

I’m not so sure about most of them. I think they have adapted to sleep deprivation. I think they really suffer from insomnia and have found a way to make it work for them.

I have not been that lucky. I started having sleep issues when I was 19. I couldn’t fall asleep. Or I couldn’t stay asleep. I never adapted to it. I did spend long hours online researching it in the middle of the night.

One friend calls it ‘busy brain’. Which is true. The first time she said it I knew exactly what she meant. TheVacation Pictures 070 moment you lay down the brain goes into overdrive and will not settle down. But over the years, I’ve found methods to deal with that. I listen to certain sounds, like Rain, Thunderstorms, Ocean, Stream. Gregorian chants. Especially Gregorian chants set to a back ground of a thunder-storm. Some cartoons help as well. Shin Chan, Dexter’s Laboratory, Phineas and Ferb. For some reason, these short, episodic shows really sooth my brain. Each show is 3 or three short, unrelated, segments.

For several years now, I actually have been doing very well and haven’t had bouts of it. But lately the insomnia has come back. I’m blaming the car accident. I seem to have a lot of anxiety when I drive now. As well as when I’m a passenger in a car. Sometimes, when riding with another person, I have to close my eyes. Yet I have to drive more because I’m working a lot of overtime so my roommate and I are driving separately several times a week.

Last night I had zero sleep. None at all. I’ve been up since yesterday morning. I’m on my second cup of coffee and I hate coffee. Day is dragging so slowly.

Leave a Reply

