About Sushi, Raspberries and Cameras.

Yesterday I had the most amazing volcano roll for lunch. It seems like every place that serves sushi has a volcano roll but it is different at each establishment. It was also beautifully made. It really wasn’t as fancy as some. It was basically a California roll that was wrapped in thin layers of crab with a more spicy than usual spicy sauce and then sprinkled with some kink of crunchy flakes. It was also just a little bit salty.

I finished off the sushi with a cup of raspberries. They were on sale. Anytime I see them for 2.99 I buy some.  It is what I think of as the ‘normal’ price.  Sometimes the same sized containers can go all the way up to 5.99.  Far to high.

I would loved to take a photo of the delicious and beautiful food but I cannot.  My camera will not charge.  It works perfectly fine when plugged into the wall. This is why the people to whom I took the camera say that it must be a completely dead battery that will no longer take a charge.  Only new batteries, which were very hard to find, also didn’t charge.   I do not have a separate batter charger.  I’m wondering if I should try getting one and seeing if the batteries will charge when charged by an external charger.  Maybe something is wrong with the camera charger and not the batteries.

The only thing is that I’m not that happy with the camera.  It never was as good as my old camera.  But it was the closet one to what I had before.  That camera still worked but the view screen was damaged.  I had the camera in my pocket when I closed the door of the car.  Apparently it crushed something in the viewer.  I could take photos but I could not see what I was taking a photo of.  So I couldn’t see if I was pointing it correctly to get the image I wanted. The repair to that was going to cost as much as the camera was worth.  The part wasn’t terribly expensive but the labor to replace it cost twice as much as the part.

So my mom bought me a new one that was okay but not great.  And now I can’t find batteries for it and it won’t charge properly.  I didn’t think it was that only, only about 4 years.  But everyone else thought that was old for a camera.  Who goes and gets a new camera every year?  It isn’t like an iPod or a smart phone.

According to my roommate, new cameras are released about every 6 months.  His camera was only in production for 3 months and they stopped selling them about 8 months after the initial release date of that model.  So basely a 5-year-old camera would be like a 10-year-old car.

So now I’m thinking that I really want a new camera.  My oldest niece is getting married in June and I want good photos.  So maybe it is time to get a more expensive camera.

The irony is that my all time best camera was a 60$ film camera I picked up at a drug store before going on a vacation many years ago.  Eventually I had problems with the door to the film compartment.  It was my last film camera. I still miss it to this day.  My mom grumbled all through our Hawaii trip one year because my 60$ took better ocean photos than her 300$ camera.  It was funny.

So, until I get a new camera, I’m going to have photo problems with my blogs.  I might have trouble finding the photos I need from my collection of personal photos.

Leave a Reply

