You know you are getting old when…..

. . . you use a cultural reference and the person with whom you are talking doesn’t understand it.

Vinyl records

Vinyl records

I told someone a bit younger than me, “Catch you on the flip side.”  He didn’t know what I was talking about.  I wouldn’t necessarily assume he would have known the cartoon by that title.  It was pretty short-lived.  But I didn’t realize he was too young to be familiar with cassette tapes.  The term referred to the track on the reverse side of a record but it still worked for the Walkman/tape cassette era.

I guess far to many young adults, out of high school no less, only have practical memories of CD’s.  They know what a cassette tape is but because they don’t remember having or using them, the references go over their heads.

It just makes me feel old.

Leave a Reply

