How did my mom KNOW?

My sister and I are very different.  She was a total tom-boy and a daddy’s girl.  I was the little lady but I wanted to run around and do all the boy’s stuff in skirts and dresses.  So I was part tomboy and part princess.  (I remember finding boards and sheets of wood and we would build tree forts and then turn around and have tea parties and picnics.  Boys and girls together.)

But what really gets me is how did Mom know, when we were not even in school yet, that my sister would gravitate towards sports and I would be the bookish, crafty one?  My sister was in tee-ball at the earliest age that was allowable and I was dropped off at the library for story time, film strips, and crafting sessions.  How did these traits make themselves known as such early ages so parents can put kids in programs that suit their personalities.  I vaguely remember, in kindergarten, begging to teacher to teach us to read.  But that was partly because I had already been in so many library programs that I really wanted to read the books on the shelves.  So what triggered my mom to send me to the library so much but not my sister?

I did ask her, once, years ago.  She didn’t really have an answer, other than she just knew.

Leave a Reply

