Handicapped Parking

r7_fasciitis

The source of my heel pain.

I admit that when I see people parking in the handicapped parking spots that look perfectly able I have a twinge of annoyance. But I have two things that could enable me to get handicapped parking that are not visible so I know that you can’t know by seeing.

I have Plantar Fasciitis which has never really gone away. I have to wear ugly shoes all the time. I have some okay flats I can can wear for dress up but I can’t wear them to many days in a row, even with my inserts, without triggering a flare up. This pain is crippling and makes walking any distance a nightmare. I also have severely painful nerve pain in my thigh that developed when I was not overweight. So my doctor said that losing the weight gain that it and the Plantar Fasciitis resulted in may never make it go away.

My first doctor just kept telling me to lose weight and didn’t really treat anything. The nerve pain slowed me down and started the weight gain process and the Fasciitis developed as I was still trying to lose the weight and started a two year period where I could barely get around. I had to switch doctors until I found someone who would treat the problem problem instead of telling my weight was the problem, seeing how the weight gain was all after I developed the first issue and made worse by the second issue.

I could barely get from my car to the office at my job. I was in the lower parking lot. I could barely do my shopping. I was told I could have gotten a handicapped tag to park closer and when shopping I suppose I could have used the carts you sit in and drive around. I never did because of a stubborn streak inside that equated that with giving up and giving in.

But because of that I know that you can’t always see why someone has to park in a handicapped spot.

The reason I get annoyed with people parking in those spots is that I often see people who do not have the plates or the hang tags using those spots. I see these articles about people posting notes they find on their car when they park there. Some people do say, or even show, that they have the plates or the tags to park there. In those cases, the people putting notes on cars are totally in the wrong.

But some of these stories avoid saying if the person parking there didn’t have the correct plates or didn’t put up a hang tag. If you don’t have anything indicating that you need to use those spots, you shouldn’t get so upset when people complain about it. Admittedly, that doesn’t give other people the right to be nasty about it either.  Being upset because people were nasty is one things.  Being upset because people complained is another if you don’t have handicapped plates or a hang tag.  If you are going to use those spots and don’t want people to think you are doing something wrong or being selfish and taking a spot someone might need then just fill out the paperwork and get the hanging tag at the very least.

Leave a Reply

