Howling Winds, Revised

Thursday was so beautiful that we had windows opened up and I went to bed with my bedroom window left open. It became very windy during the night. In fact, the wind howled and whistled and sounded much like the blizzard we had a few weeks ago. The one I tried to drive to work in. I did not make it.

It was blowing very badly right into the windshield. Huge fat flakes that made visibility difficult. This area has a phenomenon called Thunder Snow. It is a snow storm with thunder and lightning. It is very pretty. The lightning reflects in the clouds and against the falling snow turning everything blue.

When it faded away, visibility was even worse. The power in the area went out.  Now I couldn’t even see the road more than a few feet in front of me.  I could see tire tracks so I just followed them and they got off on the next exit.  I went home.

(Now the day Thursday was beautiful but the night was terribly window.) I have not idea what that sentence was supposed to say.

Like I said, Thursday was lovely but the night was another story.  The wind was howling and whistling just like that blizzard.  The whistling kept waking me up.  Every time I closed my eyes and feel asleep I would see the snow blowing straight at my face.  It seemed so real that I had to get up and look outside.  It was very shocking NOT to see snow even though I knew it was supposed to be far to warm to snow.

We did have another beautiful day Friday, but I felt like it wasn’t right.  I felt sure that it had been snowing that it was really supposed to be cold.  It was such a strong and overpowering sensation that I simply could not adjust to the facts of reality once I was up and about.  It left me feeling off kilter and discombobulated all day long.

Leave a Reply

